Bishop Dwight L. Haygood, Sr.

Bishop Dwight L. Haygood, Sr. accepted his call to the ministry while at Fort Polk, LA under the leadership of Elder Maurice Johnson in 1984. Upon relocating to Germany, Bishop Haygood served under Elder Leon Ross, Jr. and Elder Robert Hawkins. He was ordained in the August 1987 during the Germany Jurisdiction Convocation. Bishop Haygood has served as president of choirs, of brotherhoods, and as Assistant Pastor.

In August 1999, Bishop Haygood was appointed Pastor of Hope Temple Church of God in Christ by Bishop A. T. Moore during the Kentucky First Jurisdiction Holy Convocation. Bishop Haygood gripped the mantle that the late Superintendent J. Johnson passed on to him, and with the support of the saints and the strength of the Lord, Bishop Haygood put both hands to the plow to perform the duties placed upon him and to perfect the ministry before him.

In 2004, Bishop Haygood was chosen by Bishop Moore to succeed the late Superintendent John Johnson as District Superintendent of District 4 in Kentucky First Jurisdiction. In March 2009, Bishop Haygood was elected to carry the mantle, shoulder the work, and continue the spiritual leadership for Kentucky First Jurisdiction as Jurisdictional Bishop. Along with taking the mantle of Jurisdictional Bishop, Bishop Haygood took on the office of Pastor of Moore Temple Church of God in Christ.

Bishop Dwight L. Haygood, Sr. went home to be with the Lord on Monday, April 27, 2015. Kentucky First Jurisdiction will continually honor the life and legacy of Bishop Dwight L. Haygood, Sr.

Jurisdictional Prelates